What is Tier 2 Sex Offender Classification?

Most states classify sex offenders into three different levels based on the severity of their crime and propensity to commit future crimes. Each tier has its own set of criteria that the prosecutor will use to determine your classification level.

People convicted of Tier 2 offenses must register for life and will be subject to extensive notification including public disclosure of their name, age and address. They must also report to authorities on a regular basis.

Tier II

Having your name on a sex offender registry can make it much more difficult to find employment and housing, and may have a negative impact on your life overall. Being listed as a tier 2 sex offender means that you have been convicted of a crime involving child sexual contact, sexual abuse or the possession of child pornography. Mr. Volet will work hard to see that your sex offender classification is as low as possible, so you are not viewed as a risk to the community and that there are minimal restrictions on your lifestyle.

See also:  What Does it Mean When You Dream About Having Sex With Your Ex?

Level 2 sex offenders are often convicted of crimes such as possession of child pornography, luring or enticing a minor for the purpose of engaging in sexual activity, criminal sexual contact with a minor and endangering the welfare of a minor through acts involving promoting prostitution. They may also be convicted of other child-related offenses like unlawful restraint, institutional sexual assault or corruption of a minor.

Most states require people convicted of certain types of sex offenses to register with the state. The criteria for sex offender categories varies by state, but generally speaking a person’s sex offender category will depend on the severity of the crime, the likelihood that they could commit another crime and the potential impact of that new crime on children or other victims.

Typically, a sex offender’s tier will be determined by the prosecutor’s office through a process called the Registrant Risk Assessment Scale or RRAS for adults and JRAS for juveniles. The prosecutor will consider all of the information that is known about the offender such as their age, the nature and extent of the sex offense, whether they have committed other similar offenses and their history of drug or alcohol use. The sex offender’s current status with regard to incarceration, supervised release or parole will also be taken into account.

See also:  Why Can't I Sleep After Sex?

Once a sex offender has been assigned a tier, they must be notified of this by local law enforcement agencies and institutions that care for children. This includes places such as daycares and kids camps. Tier 2 offenders are also subject to more extensive restrictions that include travel limitations and custody and visitation requirements.

Tier 2 sex offenders must verify their address with a designated law enforcement agency four times a year. This can be a headache if someone is planning interstate or international travel on those dates and it is a significant burden on the offender.

See also:  How to Get Off the Sex Offender Registry

Failure to register can result in fines and/or jail time. Some states allow members of the public to sign up for notifications when sex offenders are registered in their area. Others maintain sex offender databases that can be searched by name, location and crime. In these cases, it can be very easy for the public to obtain this type of information. A sex offender’s listing can be removed from the registry once their mandatory registration period has passed, they have been pardoned for the conviction or have had their record expunged.

See Also:



Photo of author


Leave a Comment